25 March 2020 | Customer

Virgin Australia Group revised domestic schedule

The Virgin Australia Group has confirmed a revised domestic schedule following the Group’s decision to extend domestic capacity reductions from 50 per cent to 90 per cent, including the suspension to Tigerair Australia domestic services effective immediately.

The Group will continue to operate near daily services to 17 Australian destinations for the purpose of transporting essential services, critical freight and logistics. The Group will temporarily suspend services to 19 Australian destinations from midnight 27 March to 14 June 2020.

Virgin Australia will temporarily suspend services to the following destinations from midnight 27 March and 14 June 2020:

  • Albury
  • Alice Springs
  • Ayers Rock (Uluru)
  • Ballina Byron
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Cloncurry
  • Darwin
  • Emerald
  • Hervey Bay
  • Hamilton Island
  • Hobart
  • Mount Isa
  • Launceston
  • Mildura
  • Sunshine Coast (Maroochydore)
  • Newcastle
  • Whitsunday Coast (Proserpine)
  • Port Macquarie*
  • Tamworth

The below Virgin Australia domestic services will continue to operate, at a significantly reduced rate:


  • Brisbane - Sydney
  • Brisbane - Cairns
  • Brisbane - Melbourne
  • Brisbane - Mackay
  • Brisbane - Perth
  • Brisbane – Rockhampton
  • Brisbane - Townsville


  •  Melbourne - Sydney
  •  Melbourne - Brisbane
  •  Melbourne - Canberra
  •  Melbourne - Perth
  •  Melbourne - Adelaide


  • Sydney - Melbourne
  • Sydney -Brisbane
  • Sydney - Gold Coast


  • Perth - Melbourne
  • Perth - Brisbane
  • Perth - Broome
  • Perth - Kalgoorlie
  • Perth - Kununurra
  • Perth - Karratha
  • Perth - Onslow
  • Perth - Port Hedland
  • Perth - Newman
  • Perth - Christmas Island / Cocos Keeling Islands

Virgin Austraila's charter-operated services continue to operate as scheduled.

Tigerair Australia will temporarily suspend all services effective immediately.

Support for guests

Virgin Australia guests who are booked to travel between now and 30 June 2020 are encouraged to visit the Virgin Australia customer care hub at virginaustralia.com to request a travel credit online or obtain more information about their options.
Virgin Australia and Tigerair Australia guests who are booked to travel between now and 31 March 2020 are being provided flexibility to change their flight to a Virgin Australia service departing on or before 27 March with change fees and fare difference waived. This can be done via our Guest Contact Centres or at the airport, subject to availability. 
All other Tigerair Australia customers will be able to obtain a Virgin Australia travel credit. All Tigerair customers who have an existing Tigerair travel credit will have that transferred to a Virgin Australia travel credit. 

*Virgin Australia continues to codeshare on Brisbane-Port Macquarie as well as routes between Brisbane and Bundaberg, and Gladstone operated by Alliance Airlines.